Never Forget the Little Things

Thankfulness is something I still need to focus on. With the busy, constant hassle of life, it’s easy to forget how blessed we really are, and even easier to focus on the negative.

 

FAMILY: My family is happy and healthy. I get to watch my kids grow up. No I may not see them as much as I would like, but we have a good life, we are able to feed them and clothe them and put a roof over their heads. Occasionally I may feel like I am slacking in the mom department because I don’t see them much, or I am tired and therefore short tempered when I get home or even just because I can’t bring myself to get off the couch and go play….. I need to remember I am a good mom. They love me and they know they are loved. And I am thankful to have them in my life, and to not ever even consider the possibility that it should ever be any different.

WORK: My coworkers. Almost without exception, there is someone at work that make me laugh or smile or forget the stress for a moment. Yes, work can get crazy and work can get hectic, but I honestly love my job, and that is a pretty rare thing to be able to say. I am so thankful to love what I do and do what I love. And it’s an added bonus to have awesome people there to do it with me.

LIFE: Our house. Our house is amazing. It is easily one of the nicest places I have ever lived in my entire life. I can’t even believe how lucky I am to have such a beautiful home. I never would have guessed my life would turn out quite this great, but I know the hard work has paid off. Josh and I have made a life together. We fought through hell and back and made it. This home is just one of the many amazing things we have to show for it.

 

I am truly blessed. Does that mean I won’t complain? No. Does that mean I will be happy every second of the day? No. I know people have it worse, I used to have it worse. I’ve been there down that. And yes it does help me appreciate it so much more today, but it doesn’t mean I can’t be mad every now and then. Or be overwhelmed. Overcoming problems does not make smaller problems irrelevant. I am allowed or worry, I am allowed to complain, but I will always know just how blessed I really am.

 

Image

(Madison, Allason, me, Kyrie, Josh, Zander, Walker)

2 responses to “Never Forget the Little Things

Leave a Reply

