Lose a Day or Two

Slow down you crazy child,
Take the phone off the hook and disappear for a while.
It’s alright, you can afford to lose a day or two….

This one is actually a song lyric from Vienna by Billy Joel, but Josh and I have been discussing the need of a vacation and the fact that we actually can AFFORD to take one. This line always got to me because I feel like I can’t disappear for awhile. I have too many responsibilities, and in all honesty I feel bad if I don’t answer my phone when work calls on my days off. It’s part of who I am, and something I think is actually a good trait to have. The catch is, you can care but you gotta know when too much is too much. Burning myself out won’t do anyone any good, and I have to find that fine line somehow. I gotta tell myself… “you can afford to lose a day or two…” but maybe I will start with an hour or two, eh?

One response to “Lose a Day or Two

Leave a Reply

