Changes are coming.

Due to the increasing difficulty to find a prompt that inspires me, I am changing Mondays to Monday Musings. (Another great idea from Betsy!) Here goes the beginning of a new weekly tradition:

 

It’s that time of year at my place of employment. We are getting busier and its time for assistant managers to do their PRs.(Performance Reviews) This is somewhat new for me as I am rather new to being an assistant…. Although technically I am now a Department Manager… the whole mess is actually quite annoying and confusing, so I won’t bother you with all the details of the boring back story. The point here is writing my own PR really forces me to take a step back and assess myself according to the skills of being a leader.

Number 1: Communicates Effectively and Honestly.

This is something that I consider a strength of mine. But, I do realize now that there are some areas I need to work on. I have discovered I have become rather defensive with constructive criticism and/or coaching. Part of communicating effectively is also applied to me as well. All that aside though, I would never turn a concern away, and when it comes to someone asking for my attention, I don’t hesitate to give them my full attention. (Carey doesn’t count, I always continue working when him and I are talking, because there is never a GOOD TIME for either of us.) BE HERE NOW.

Number 2: Develops Crew and Managers:

I am getting there. I recently had an opportunity to coach a fellow manager and I passed it right by due to frustrations. I have to be a role model and help others get to where they need to be. I can’t complain about never having a strong enough team if I don’t do everything in my power to help develop the team I dream of. Will there be difficulties? Sure. Will my anger get the best of me sometimes? Probably, but I need to learn to take a few breaths, clear my head, and then take hold of the coaching opportunity that has been put in front of me. There is a lot more to this area, but most of it wouldn’t make a ton of sense to those that do not work in my store, so I will leave this here.

Number 3: Supports Change:

Change. It’s scary. But without change there would never be any improvements. Not all change is a bad thing, and I am fully aware of this. So I usually do my best to support change in anyway I can. Area to work on: STOP BEING SKEPTICAL of new ideas…. I’ll get there, it’ll just take some change.(see what I did there???)

Number 4: Plans Beyond the Shift:

In theory this sounds fantastic. Imagine it this way: You get in a car crash, after all the necessary steps are taken, you stop and look back at the situation. What caused it? Could it have been avoided? What can you do differently in the future to not run into this problem again? And then you apply all your WONDERFUL realizations. But in all honesty, does this sound like it would work? I think it goes more like this. “DANG IT! That’s what I get for texting and driving.” -Doesn’t text and drive for the next two weeks, then starts up again when the memory isn’t as fresh in your mind.- My problem isn’t so much planning beyond the shift, as remembering to plan beyond the shift. But what is it they say?? It takes 21 days to build a habit? Keep truckin’ on, girl.

Number 5: Builds Teamwork:

No matter what anyone says, I stand strong on this. I am one of the strongest supporters for teamwork within our store. I am the one constantly fighting to get fair treatment across the board, when days get rough I am the first to say thank you to all those who helped out, and do what I can to show them how much they are appreciated. I cannot tell you how many times I have wanted to pull my hair out doing schedules because I just can’t figure out how to keep everyone happy. The thing is, we need our team. We cannot do it without them, and they need to know that. As Ray Kroc once said, “None of us is as good as all of us.”

Number 6: Influences By Example:

I need to work on this one. You know that whole, “do what I say, not what I do?” Ya, I rely on that one a little TOO heavily. But there are some things I hold strong to. I refuse to become that manager who sits in the office all day. I expect my crew to work their butts off, and they deserve the same from me. So no matter how much time I need, or how much work I have to get done, I will take care of my customers and my store first. I will never hesitate to jump in and help when it is needed, and THAT is one example I hope I never fail to set.

Number 7: Puts the Customer First:

Definitely. Period, end of story. Really it all comes down to this. Without customers, we have nothing. Less customers means less money which means less labor allotted which means less hours to schedule to crew which equals to HORRIBLE DAYS at work .Been there, done that. Now if only we could figure out a way to ensure this happens every single second of every single day. An area of opportunity in our store for sure, but hopefully not for long.

Number 8: Organizes the Work:

I try, I really do. But this says it the best:

Men: if you ever wanna know what a woman's mind feels like, imagine a browser with 2,857 tabs open. All. The. Time.

 

NUFF SAID.

 

All in all, we all have areas we need to improve the important part is ARE YOU WILLING? I WANT to be a better leader. I WANT to be a stronger asset to my team. I WANT to be a good at my job. I won’t give up, but I may occasionally have to scream into a pillow. I’m sure you understand. (It’s amazing how well all of this also relates to my life as a Mom. If only we could get a raise for being good at that, huh?)

One response to “Changes are coming.

Leave a Reply

