Can This Be Right? (a song/poem from my past)

When you look into my eyes

I wish you’d realize…

Wish you’d understand the meaning.

Or hear the song my heart is singing.

Stuck on repeat…

Leading me to believe..

Maybe this really is all I could need.

 

But still I fight it back.

Fight back the urge

Bite back the words.

Cause the power they hold could kill

Cutting deeper still…

 

So tell me.. baby,

can this be right?

 

I feel my heart sink

Deeper into wrinkled sheets

Covered in linen cloth

As I lay in bed tonight..

Tell me,

Can this be right?

 

I remember midnight kisses

So tender and delicious

Under those starry skies…

Oh to taste your breath again…

So sweet, so sweet your breath.

Leaving each kiss with me longing for the next.

None sweeter then the rest.

Do you remember too?

Do you miss it too?

 

Damn baby.

Can this be right?

 

Longing to reach out

Grab your hand.

But not doing so..

I know that I cant.

 

But knowing doesn’t make it easier

Knowing doesn’t cure the pain

Knowing doesn’t kill the flame.

 

So tell me baby…

Can this be right?

To have to fight.

Fight to breathe.

Fight to blink.

Fight to simply try not to think.

 

Tell me my dear,

tell me my sweet…

 

Can this, can this

oh can this be right?

 

Cause it doesn’t feel right to me…

no no.. it doesn’t feel right to me.

One response to “Can This Be Right? (a song/poem from my past)

Leave a Reply

