#100HappyDays: Day 5

#100HappyDays: Day 5

Day 5: I love my little beauty routine every morning. I have it down to about 15 minutes, and it makes me feel so much prettier and confident when I take the time to care about how I look for the day. It is a little pick me up for this tired Mama. These are the products I couldn’t live without:
1. Neutrogena oil-free eye makeup remover (I prefer waterproof make up for my eyes, you never know when Motherhood will bring you to tears! So I need a little more than just some face wash to get my stubborn make up off)
2. Burt’s Bees Soap Bark and Chamomile face wash (This stuff is AMAZING! I am glad to finally have found a face wash that works for me. Not only is it gentle enough for everyday use, but the little bit of Menthol in the face wash leaves my face feeling cool, refreshed and tingly clean. Plus, it smells good too!)
3. Sephora blush (I try not to be a product snob when it comes to make up, cause in all honesty, I am not willing to spend fifty dollars on something I will be replacing that often. But when it comes to blush, Sephora’s has the only one that I able to apply easily without caking it on my brush and practically scrubbing my face with it till I can’t tell if it’s blush making my cheeks so pink, or the vigorous application. SO when it comes to my blush, I shop at Sephora.)
4. Sephora eyeliner (Eyeliner and mascara are my go to, quick touch up when I don’t have time to do my make up. So it is very essential that the eyeliner I use is long lasting and effective. The Sephora Nano Eyeliner in Midnight Black was introduced to me through my sister who was a cosmetologist at the time. It glides on smoothly, goes on dark black and stays dark black through out the day, and STAYS PUT! I love this eyeliner and I carry it with me everywhere I go.)
5. Dr. Brandt’s Pores No More pore refiner (This one isn’t actually an essential, but it has been a part of my morning make up routine for about two weeks now. I received my sample through my BIRCHBOX subscription and I have been enjoying having it. I haven’t seen that much of a difference really though, so I am not planning on purchasing it.)
6. Covergirl lashblastvolume mascara (Honestly, any of the volume boosting mascaras from Covergirl make my list. I often just buy whichever one looks the most appealing or is the cheapest when it comes time to buy a new one. Like I said above, eyeliner and mascara are my two main quick pick me up staples. So I am glad to have so many at my disposal that do what I want.)
7. Covergirl Advanced Radiance foundation (Iwear this in the shade buff beige and it is another recommendation from my sister. I love it, it fits my skin tone perfectly, isn’t too expensive and applies smoothly. I am not opposed to switching brands, but I hate going through the hassle of trying to find the right shade to match my skin when it comes to purchasing new foundation)
8. Covergirl pressed powder compact (I wear this in the buff beige shade as well. I usually put it on after I apply the Fake Up below my eyes because it helps blend that and the foundation all together really well.)
9. Burt’s Bees chapstick (I actually usually use the normal yellow tube of Burt’s Bees chapstick, but I have temporarily misplaced it so I put my back up stick in the picture. I have used this stuff since middle school. It is my favorite chapstick and I have never found anything that works as well and is as easy to use on a daily basis. I am firm believer you can never have to many Burt’s Bees chapsticks)
10. Bath & Body Works Sweet Pea body spray (This particular bottle is actually the shimmer spray, which I enjoy cauz a little sparkle is nice to have. But any of the Sweet pea body sprays work for me. I keep a travel size one in my purse for a quick spritz when I wanna refresh. I don’t really care for the perfume the made outta the sweet pea scent at Bath and Body Works, but I love the rest of the sweet pea products. I even have wall flowers in this scent.)
11. Benefit’s Fake Up (This is one of my more recent finds and additions to my make up routine. Let me just HALLELUJAH! I was sent a sample though one of my BIRCHBOXs and I fell in love immediately. I have struggled with dark circles under my eyes since I was in high school and had insomnia. This is the first and ONLY product that works to help conceal those depressing bags! I bought a full size immediately and plan on continuing to purchase this one again and again.)
12. Baby Lips tinted lip balm (THe color I have is called Pink Punch and adds just a little bit of pink to my lips when I apply it. I bought this on a whim about a week ago whiel at Walmart picking up a new powder compact. I am glad I did. Not only does it give me that touch of pink I prefer over the startling POP of lipstick, but it also moisturizes and smells really good. I plan on trying out some new colors soon.)
And then there is my collection of brushes I keep in a mason jar with “river rocks” in the bottom to keep them standing. [This was inspired by my homemade wedding décor and has a very Pinterest feel to it.]

10 responses to “#100HappyDays: Day 5

  1. My morning routine (YMMV):
    1: roll out of bed.
    2: roll out of bed again.
    3: actually get up out of bed this time for a desperate potty run.
    4: wake up in the bathroom.
    5: wash hands with soap and water.
    6: splash face with water, scrub dry with towel.
    7: scrub dry hair and scalp with massaging scalp brush until I see ‘fur’ fly (my hair is VERY short), then smooth it down.
    8: brush teeth.
    9: apply deodorant salt stone to bits prone to sweating.
    10: get dressed. Done!

    Evenings are much the same. Brush teeth, scrub face with water and nubby towel, and then I sometimes apply lemon juice to my face (wet cotton ball, add lemon juice to cotton ball, wipe all over face and throat), and when I do that, I’ll top it with a silky skin cream, but otherwise I don’t put stuff on my face.

    Every few days, I’ll shower with a nice, rough-woven scrubby cloth, and clean everywhere. Sometimes, I even use soap or shampoo, if I feel like I need it.

    I have been blessed with very good skin and very good hair, and it seems to only get better if I don’t use product on it.

  2. saw you at the a-z challenge. 🙂 1)I love sephora. 2)I love your brushes in the jar with rocks! I’m going to have to do that, it will be loads better than shoving them in the drawer which is what I do now!

  3. Hello from a fellow A to Z participant. Wow… you are a busy blogger. I can barely manage 1 post a day on A to Z….. I could never keep up with you. Have fun.

    • I will admit, it is already pretty daunting, but I love writing and I consider my blog my “me” time, so it’s kind of a win/win. More me time, and more blogs. =)

    • Thank you. I really enjoying my Birchbox. More than I even thought, seeing as how I pretty unknowledgeable about beauty products. I usually am very reluctant to try new things, but this gives me the perfect chance. I even have another product on the way to add to my routine, Agave Hair Treatment Oil. Plus, I signed up for Ipsy too.

  4. Pingback: Birchbox: April Edition [Rainy Days] | ORGANIZED CHAOS

Leave a Reply

