Books. Books. And more books.

Today I bought myself 10 new books. Because I am so excited to read them, and really wanna share that with someone I have decided to post a blog about it.

1. As Simple As Snow by: Gregory Galloway

To be honest, the summary on the back reminded me a lot of the book, The Body of Christopher Creed, which I loved. So I am pretty excited to read this one.

2. No Easy Way Out by: Dayna Lorentz

This book didn’t have a recap available anywhere, so I am going off of the age old: judging a book by it’s cover. There is something sparse and intriguing about the cover art, and I found myself wanting to know more about this book. What better way to do that than to read it?

3. This Side Of Paradise by: F. Scott Fitzgerald

I have sadly never read the works of this astounding author despite my immense love and immediate attraction to ever quote I have ever seen accredited to him. Time to start discovering more. I am certain I will not be disappointed considering how well his words seem to speak to me. I am excited to start this one.

4. A Girl Like Me by: Swati Kaushal

Once again I found myself drawn in by the cover art (I will admit, I have a bad habit of choosing a lot of books of their appearance or title, but I also have been known to put the book back once I realize, with further investigation, that the cover is deceiving.) I also have a soft spot for books aimed at young adults, especially ones involving teen angst or drugs/alcohol. They just keep me reading on, and I can’t get enough of them. This is definitely a book aimed at the young adult crowd, so I decided to add it to my cart.

5. Tweak by: Nic Sheff

I didn’t even read the summary on this one, I barely noticed the cover, in fact the title is what caught my attention. Like I just explained in the paragraph above, I have a strange affinity for books about drug use. Smack by Melvin Burgess is one of my all time favorite books, and this is right up that alley. I think this is the book I am the most excited to read. Although I will admit I am a little weary after the cashier ringing me up exclaimed, “I love this book! It’s all about meth and is supposed to make you not wanna do it. But I actually kinda wanna try it after reading that book. They make it sound like so much fun!” I am thinking maybe she is on crack already… WHO SAYS THAT TO A CUSTOMER AT THEIR JOB? “Hi, your total is $8.65 and I wanna try Meth.” Some people….

6. Messed Up by: Janet Nichols Lynch

The summary on the back of this book is very short, and doesn’t give much information. But, I also love reading books with stressful home lives and difficult situations. (Let me just throw in here that I am very interested in psychology and actually want to be a social worker or chemical dependency counselor at some point in my life.) This book falls in that category, and will be a nice light read for a lazy afternoon.

7. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time by: Mark Haddon

Just the title of this book alone pulled me in to investigate. I love obscure titles and random topics, and I am sure this book will not disappoint. It is always refreshing to read a unorthodox book every now and then, and I think this one will stray off the beaten path a little.

8. The Year of the Fog by: Michelle Richmond

This book will make me contemplate one of the greatest fears a parent could ever face: losing your child. This noel is centered around the disappearance of a young girl, and the turmoil is wreaks in her family’s life. I am sure this will be heart wrenching and will bring on quite a few tears. I’ll have to save it for a night in, when I won’t have to worry about anyone seeing my tear-stained, swollen eyes.

9. Beyond the Billboard by: Susan Gates

This is one that is aimed at younger audiences and is a much shorter book. I will keep it for a day of boredom. The summary on the inside flap of this book promises a coming of age story filled with drama and pain. I think I’m beginning to sense a pattern in my book choices.

10. Skylight Confessions by: Alice Hoffman

This is one of those books that take three different stories and somehow weaves them into one. Not only did I find the idea behind this book very appealing, but the praise for the author on the back makes me excited to read her book. Many of the reviews included the word “magic”, as they praised her writing and urged other’s to pick up her books. Let’s hope she is worthy of the praise.

 

I also purchased another book that I have read before and am very happy to add to my small permanent library of books I can never tire of reading. Room by Emma Donoghue. If you have not read this book yet, I strongly recommend it. I found it through a review in a magazine, and was not disappointed. Once I started it, I was captivated and unwilling to put it down. It is heart wrenching, captivating and very well written. I was on the edge of my seat and I definitely plan on reading this one again. For now, I shall put it right between The Necklace of Kisses by Francesca Lia Block and Innocence by: Jane Mendelsohn.

 

 

3 responses to “Books. Books. And more books.

  1. I read As Simple As Snow a few years back and even subscribed to his email clues. I was disappointed. Maybe you will like it–tastes are different!

  2. Wow that’s a lot of books. I admire how you manage your time. I could never do that. Thanks for sharing 🙂 One of the books I’ve read was “Children’s letters to God.” It’s funny.

Leave a Reply

