The Little Things

Each day as I drive to and from work, I pass a lot of farmer’s fields. I remember seeing corn shoot up in them, seeming to grow at least a foot each night. I remember seeing them slowly turn back into dirt as far as the eye can see. I remember seeing the tractor’s out there chugging away while the farmer made sure his field was ready. Everyday I have driven past, and all I saw was dirt. Just rows and rows of dirt. Hills of dirt and squares of dirt. Then one day, I looked over as I drove by and they were full of green. Full of life. Full of little tiny plants, finally broken through all that dirt. The simple, brown fields were all of a sudden full of color. And I couldn’t tell you when it happened. How many days I drove by and didn’t even notice the beginnings of sprouts peaking their little leaves out. How many days I was zoned out, or focused on something else, that I missed this little thing. It made me kinda sad. To think I get so lost in life, and the never ending day to day tasks, that I forgot to enjoy the beauty around me. It made me wonder, what else did I miss?
So, lately I have been trying to drink in life, instead of letting in just pass me by. Trying to focus my eyes on the little things, instead of letting them all blur into the background. Trying to notice the beauty of all life has to offer. Here are just a few of the things I’ve been able to enjoy from this awaking.

These adorable shoes, that I can't seem to get enough of. Imma be sad when they won't fit Kyrie anymore.

These adorable shoes, that I can’t seem to get enough of. Imma be sad when they won’t fit Kyrie anymore.

The amazing, yet odd shape of this hollow stump.

The amazing, yet odd shape of this hollow stump.

The beautiful weather outside.

The beautiful weather outside.

Zander became obsessed with this one spot in the yard, and started walking over it, back and forth, back and forth. I loved the way his shadow showed on the fence.

Zander became obsessed with this one spot in the yard, and started walking over it, back and forth, back and forth. I loved the way his shadow showed on the fence.

Although our little boy ran towards this statue in excitement, once he got close enough to it, he freaked out. He decided it was cool to look at, but touching was WAY outta the question.

Although our little boy ran towards this statue in excitement, once he got close enough to it, he freaked out. He decided it was cool to look at, but touching was WAY outta the question.

 

IMG_1039

The wonder in this kid’s eyes as he walked along the sidewalk and discovered new things every step of the way.

IMG_1023

This little girl playing peekaboo with her kid’s menu at I-Hop.

Zander has such a great imagination. He entertained himself with a bowl of creamer cups, by stacking them and burying his animals in them.

Zander has such a great imagination. He entertained himself with a bowl of creamer cups, by stacking them and burying his animals in them.

2 responses to “The Little Things

Leave a Reply

