M is for My Life (Mommyhood, McDonald’s and Music)

M seems to fit in with a lotta key parts of my life.

Mommyhood. That’s what my life is all about. I just finished reading a book called “I Was A Really Good Mom Before I Had Kids: Reinventing Modern Motherhood.” by: Trisha Ashworth and Amy Nobile. The whole book is about the unrealistic expectations that are set for mothers today. Expectations from other moms, society, husbands and even yourself. The whole book just seemed to be so perfectly aligned with my life and my journey through motherhood. It has made me really put some though into my most recent thought of being a stay at home mom. Although this is something I definitely plan on doing at some point, I don’t intend to until Zander is starting school. I want to be there to take him to school and pick him up. I want to be able to pack his school lunches and volunteer for class parties. I want to be an involved mom and I can say, without a doubt, that would NEVER be possible with my current occupation. I already have a hard time balancing work and home, I couldn’t even imagine adding more to my already full plate without giving some of those responsibilities up first.

Image

 

 

McDonald’s. I love working here. I love my job and the people I work with. Although it can get stressful I wouldn’t want it any other way. I thrive in fast paced environments. I couldn’t even imagine having a job that placed me sitting behind a desk all day. I would go crazy! That being said, it is a very difficult job to have with kids. There is no such thing as a set schedule once you are as far up the chain as I am. There is days you go in early and days you leave late. Days you wanna tear your hair out and days you go home ready to cry. I don’t really feel like I have days off, because I am still constantly looking at my email and worrying about labor and 1-800 calls. Still, the thought of not working there makes my throat kinda close, my chest tighten up and tears prick at my eyelids. I love this place. It was my home before I had my family, and it is my home away from home now. My best friend works there, I feel accomplished there, HECK! I met my husband there. Someday I know I will have to say goodbye, but I’ll cross that bridge when I get there.

Image

 

 

Music. Music is my religion. As cliché as that may sound, it is true. In high school music got me through hell. There is literally no such thing as music I don’t listen to. I have tons of mixed CDs full of things like Cher followed by Disturbed followed by Flogging Molly followed by The Playmates. I love music, and just the simple act of rolling down the windows and blasting music is a big stress reliever on a terrible day. The thing I prolly miss the most about pre motherhood is being able to put my headphones in and blast music while I wrote in my journal or went for a walk. Music is a constant for me, it is a huge part of my life and my sanity.

Image

 

 

My life is made up of so many different things and important aspects, these are just a few of them. Talking about myself is definitely a weak point for me, I never really feel comfortable with it. Still, that is part of blogging, letting the readers get to know a little about the person behind the writing. I am getting there, little by little, and I intend to keep pushing this comfort zone.

Image

2 responses to “M is for My Life (Mommyhood, McDonald’s and Music)

Leave a Reply

